NO. If you read the Title and your first thought was the british singing show, this may not be the blog for you. go read something about Justin Beibers new hair or something. I'm talking about the "X" Factor, the thing that turns a definite loser into a potential victor.
To help you understand what I'm talking about, I'm going to use one of my favorite TV shows. Again, not british singing. The show "deadliest warrior" is a show for all nerdy men who spend to much time with their nose in a history book. The people in the show choose two fairly well matched groups in history and ask "If one fought the other, who would win?" It is usually pretty accurate, they match fighting styles, armor, weapons, and size. The one thing they cannot include, though, is the X Factor, the invisible 'thing' that puts them over the edge. Could be heart- they win because they fight harder, or have more reason to. Could be that they were just raised differently. The X Factor wins nine times out of ten, even if people don't realize it.
By far the most visible version of the X Factor is the "Underdog Effect" the team wins, not because they are better, but because they are worse. They are slated to lose, so they win. No one knows why this works, but it does. In fact, it has become quite unfair.
The Underdog Effect means that the better team, the team that has worked far harder than the other team, will lose. No one likes them, simply because they are superior to their opponent. The whole crowd is on the side of the weaker team. This psychologically helps the underdog, and hurts the... overdog? You see this in all sorts of things- not just sports, but in all factors of life. The guy who "needs it more" gets the job, not the one who deserves it more. The weaker guy gets the girl, mainly out of pity. Support gets thrown to the side that would have a more "romanticized" victory.
I'm not going to lie, I like the underdogs too. Just sayin, it ain't fair.
No comments:
Post a Comment